719-392-6137 3905 S US Highway 85-87 Colorado Springs, Colorado 80911


Arkansas is a constituent state of the United States of America with the nickname of “The Natural State”. Arkansas has 29th position among the 50 US States in terms of the total area coverage. The border of Arkansas extends Missouri to the north, Tennessee and Mississippi to the east, Louisiana to the south, Texas to the southwest and Oklahoma to the west.

The legislature of Arkansas was unable to approve a flag proposal of Federation of Women’s Clubs in 1911 because of which the state secretary formed a committee for selection of the definite state flag just after two years. A flag designed by Willie Hocker who was also a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution was approved among the total 65 submissions to the committee. The battleship USS Arkansas had a copy of this flag which was accepted through the voting of the legislature in 1913.

The flag had three stars appearing at the center as a representation of Arkansas as the third state generated from the Louisiana Territory as well as a memorandum that it was ruled by three countries: France, Spain and the United States. In 1923, further modification was made in the flag with the additional placement of the fourth star that symbolized the stand for Confederate States of America and on April 10, 1924, its final form was accepted. The design and color combinations show appropriate reference to the Battle Flag of the Confederacy. The central emblem of diamond shape symbolizes the diamond production of the state altotal in 25 stars as the representation of the 25th position of the state in joining the union.

The design of the current state flag of Arkansas has a red field bearing blue-and-white design. In the centre is a white diamond with four blue stars as well as the name of the state also in blue; surrounding the diamond is a blue band with 25 white stars.