(719) 392 - 6137 3905 S US Highway 85-87 Colorado Springs, Colorado 80911


Connecticut is a constituent state of the United States of America with the official nickname of “The Constitution State”. Connecticut was one of the original 13 states of the Union as well as one of the six New England states. It holds the position of 48th among the 50 US states in terms of total area coverage. The border of Connecticut extends Massachusetts to the north, Rhode Island to the east, Long Island Sound to the south and New York to the west.

The coat of arms present in the flag is influenced by the seal of the colony of Connecticut of 1711. The centrally placed three grapevines are assumed to be the symbolic representation of either the colonies of Connecticut, New Haven and Saybrook or maybe the first three area towns Hartford, Wethersfield and Windsor, established by the Europeans. The peculiar identification of the design is indicated by the Latin inscription at the ribbon below those coat of arms “Qui transtulit sustinet” which means “He who transplanted still sustains” as a motto derived from the 80th psalm of the Bible.

This current flag design in use was first demonstrated at the 1775-1783 American Revolution with the exceptional background color in red. The standard background color transformed to blue for regimental colours during the Civil War 1861-1865. Those military flags of that time were assumed as state representation flags. To validate this assumption, a flag with blue background was consequently flown over the state capital at the time of sessions of the legislature. This design came up as a basis for recommendation for the final adoption of the current flag to the legislature in June 1897.