719-392-6137 3905 S US Highway 85-87 Colorado Springs, Colorado 80911


Delaware is a constituent state of the United States of America with the first log cabins in North America. It ranks 49th among the 50 U.S. states in terms of total area as well as is one of the most densely populated. The state is organized into three counties from north to south which are sequentially New Castle, Kent, and Sussex, established within 1682. Being the first of the original 13 states to ratify the federal Constitution, it occupies a small niche in the Boston–Washington, D.C., urban corridor along the Middle Atlantic seaboard.

The history of Delaware flags extends with the reference to a revolutionary war (1775-1783). The colors combination of the flag is derived from troops of Delaware and the flag was adopted officially as a state flag on July 14, 1913. The original symbolism of the diamond shape is unpredictable but it may have been chosen simply as a distinctive design. The colour preference or selection is clearly understood i.e. the uniforms of Continental Army troops were blue with buff facings. Delaware’s “colonial” blue and buff can be the precise colour shades specification but the latter is often misrepresented as yellow.

There is a unique inclusion on the Delaware flag i.e. date ‘December 7, 1787’. This date along the bottom of the flag is when Delaware became the first state to abide by the US Constitution. The coat of arms placed at state seal was approved early in 1777 with the incorporation of symbols representing the late 18th century – a soldier, a farmer, a sheaf of wheat and an ear of corn: agriculture representation an ox and a ship. The design is finalized by the state motto of Liberty and independence.