719-392-6137 3905 S US Highway 85-87 Colorado Springs, Colorado 80911


Kentucky is a constituent state of the United States of America with the official name of “Commonwealth of Kentucky” and official nickname of “the Bluegrass State”. The border of Kentucky extends Illinois, Indiana, and Ohio to the north, West Virginia and Virginia to the east, Tennessee to the south and Missouri to the west. Kentucky was admitted as the 15th state to the Union on June 1, 1792.

Kentucky was appreciated as the nation’s western frontier at the time of its admission to the Union in 1792 which was thoroughly reflected in structuring different symbols of the state seal. On June 14, 1962, different design specifications were adopted where the seal portrays two men embracing among which one is a gentleman in formal coat and pants whereas the other is a frontiersman in buckskins. This represents Kentucky’s city and countryside civilians of 1792 as a symbol of the common interest of westerners and easterners in national unity and protection which is reflected in the state motto that goes “United we stand, divided we fall”.

Since the time of flag adoption on March 26, 1918, the Kentucky seal has been emblazoned in the state flag central. The background of dark blue colour is quite common for almost half of the US state flags. The seal is framed up with goldenrod which is also a state flower with the name “Commonwealth of Kentucky”. Kentucky is a self proclaimed commonwealth like Virginia, Pennsylvania and Massachusetts but legally shares the same status as other states of the union.