719-392-6137 3905 S US Highway 85-87 Colorado Springs, Colorado 80911


New Mexico is a constituent state of the United States of America which is internationally renowned as a ‘wine country’. The state ranks in 47th position to become a state of the union officially in 1912. In terms of total area coverage, the state ranks fifth among the 50 US states. The boundary of New Mexico extends Colorado to the north, Oklahoma and Texas to the east, Texas and the Mexican state of Chihuahua and Sonora to the South and Arizona to the west.

The great historian Ralph E. Twitchell designed the original state flag of New Mexico which was officially adopted in 1915 . The flag design was typical of American vexillography. The flag had a blue background with inclusion of state name, the rank of admission to the Union i.e. 7, the state seal as well as the US flag itself.

The current practice flag of New Mexico is much simpler in contrast to most of the American state flags with complicated designs. The color combination has much reference to the flag of Spain which overtook New Mexico as part of Viceroyalty of New Spain until the early 19th century. The archaeologist and physician Harry Mera framed up the flag in a competition under the sponsorship of the Daughters of American Revolution. The official adoption of the flag was made in March 1925.

The flag has a yellow field with the Zia Indian sun in red as its central symbol, recognized as a state symbol. The architectural design of Santa Fe building is highly influenced by its shape.