719-392-6137 3905 S US Highway 85-87 Colorado Springs, Colorado 80911


Wyoming is a constituent state of the United States of America whose name is derived from a native american word “Mechewami-in” which indicates “at the big plains”. It holds the 44th position in the adoption of the Union on July 10, 1890. The state stands in 10th position among the 50 US states in terms of the total area coverage. The boundary extends Montana to the north and northwest, South Dakota and Nebraska to the east, Colorado to the south, Utah to the southwest and Idaho to the west.

The state legislature adopted the seal in 1893 including the state motto “Equal rights” as an inclusion to the 1869 Wyoming’s constitution; the first document to grant equal voting as well as official rights to women. The symbols of the miner and cowboy flanking the woman demonstrated the primary state occupation which is even inscripted in the ribbon around two pillars as “Livestock-mines-grain-oil”. The American Eagle just over the shield and a star with number 44 representing Wyoming position in the Union are other inclusive of the flag. Two dates 1869 and 1890 consecutively represented the date when Wyoming became a territory and a state.

The Wyoming division of the Daughters of the American Revolution took the responsibility of a flag competition in 1916 when 37 proposals were submitted. Verna Keays from the town of Buffalo became the winner who featured the national colors, the white silhouette of bison and the state seal of Wyoming in her design. On January 31, 1917, the legislature adopted Keay’s flag. The design is interpreted as per which the white is symbolized as purity and uprightness, blue representing sky and justice with fidelity, red border interpreted as symbol of sacrifice of the nation pioneers as well as Native American population of the state.