(719) 392 - 6137 3905 S US Highway 85-87 Colorado Springs, Colorado 80911


Hawaii is a constituent state of the United States of America with the only royal palace in the US. Hawaii is a state with geographic contents of a group of volcanic islands in the central Pacific Ocean. On August 21, 1959, Hawaii was declared the 50th U.S. state.

The history of flags of Hawaii originates from the ‘Union Jack’. In 1793, from Great Britain, Captain George Vancouver proposed the Union Jack to the withdrawal of king Kamehameha I, who was then unifying the islands with an aspiration of forming a single state. The Union Jack was kept on unofficially as the flag of Hawaii until 1816. That same year, red, white and blue stripes were added to the Union Jack as per recommendation of Western advisers to the king. This created a district national flag for the country. King Kamehameha III changed the number of stripes on the national flag at eight, representing the major islands after a brief British occupation of Hawaii in 1843.

After the overthrow of the Hawaiian government in January 1893, with the support from American business interests, they hoisted the flags with stars and stripes.In 1894, the new leaders ungraciously rejected the US attempts to secure annexation and proclaimed Hawaii a republic under its former national flag.

However, Hawaii became a U.S. territory, and 61 years later it was declared a part of the Union as the 50th state on August 12, 1898. The former national flag of the kingdom and the republic both was accepted unchanged by both the territory and the state. No records of official symbolism for the colors are found. They were probably influenced by the national symbols of other Pacific island kingdoms as well as by the flags of the foreign powers that first visited Hawaii islands.