719-392-6137 3905 S US Highway 85-87 Colorado Springs, Colorado 80911


New York is a constituent state of the United States of America with the nickname of “The Empire State”. It is one of the original 13 colonies and states of the US. It was admitted to the union on July 26, 1788. The border of New York extends Lake Erie, the Canadian province of Ontario, Lake Ontario and the Canadian province of Quebec to the west and north, New England states of Vermont, Massachusetts and Connecticut to the east, Atlantic Ocean and New Jersey to southeast and Pennsylvania to the south.

The coat of arms include a sun, two supporters and the state motto “Excelsior” which indicated “Ever upward” on a ribbon. The view of the Hudson River appears under the sun. Liberty and Justice are the two supporters of the shield where liberty stands with her liberty cap on a staff. The globe at the top has an American eagle standing above.

Jonas Bronck was a settler of the 17th century owning the land which is well known as the Bronx in New York city at present and had a coat of arms showing the rising sun. The New York state seal and coat of arms adopted in 1778 were highly under its influence. Also, the sun symbol might have been included as an honour of the duke of York who governed the English colony after 1664.

During the American Revolution of 1775-1783, a military unit had carried a banner that could resemble the current state flag. A similar flag with white fields was adopted as the state flag in 1858. The white background was replaced by the color buff often known as light tan which was used on New York uniforms during the revolution on April 8, 1896. But, the original dark blue background was restored on April 2, 1901. The pattern of coat of arms was specified in 1882 but officially adopted during the revolution.